Spine poem

Midnight in the garden of good and evil

And the mountains echoed

Angela’s ashes

Left behind

Into thin air

One hundred years of solitude

Reflection

The type of poem I created is a spine poem created by the titles of books from different authors. Why I choose this poem style was because the idea of taking physical books and creating them into a poem just on the titles completely amazes me and is fascinating. The story that went behind this poem was I only had around 10 minutes to create a spine poem for my creative writing class and I took books that had cool titles and then rearranged them to become the poem which ended up taking a more somber tone.

My opinion on poetry before the unit was that I enjoyed to read it but never understood fully on how to write a poem. After the class I enjoy to write them and that they don’t need to be specific and can be about anything.

Leave a comment